Fashion Beauty Friend Friday

 This weeks set of questions for FBFF are possibly the most interesting one’s I have come across! I am very excited for another addition of FBFF Thank you so much Modly chic for starting this community) let’s get this ball rolling. This weeks set of questions deal with feminism.

1. Do you think there is an incapability between feminism and a love for fashion? 

Not in any way! To me Fashion and Feminism are two different things. You don’t have to give up fashion to believe in feminism.  Both men and women each have their own traits and style. Men have their masculinity and we women have our femininity. Men express their masculinity the way they see fit, and we woman express our femininity the way we see fit. And more than often it is through our love of fashion. We also express our individuality through fashion. Every person is different when it comes to personality and style, and we should be able to express it. It is completely different from being treated unequally just because of our sex. To me feminism is being equal to men. Not above or below, but equal. We get the same privileges, and the same respect in and out of the work force. If men do not have to give up their masculinity then we should not have to give up our femininity. We wouldn’t have equality between the two genders if one had to give up something, and the other did not in order to earn the same amount of respect and opportunities.

 
2. There is more to each of us than a love for fashion, how do you incorporate every aspect of yourself into your blog?

Well the reason I joined FBFF was, because I felt that I wasn’t incorporating enough of myself into my blog. Joining FBFF was a great opportunity to showcase more of my views and opinions to my readers.


3. With the fashion industry still being a male-dominated profession, how do you think it would differ if women played a larger role?

This may sound very bad, but I had no idea that the fashion industry was male dominated. That being said I don’t really think it would be that much different  from what it is now. Maybe all types of people would be displayed. I would love to see more curvaceous people being glorified for their beauty, than the typical 6 ft tall, small breasted, small waisted people on the runway. I would love to see all body types… tall, short, skinny and curvy all on the same runway.

4. How is your self-image and the way you carry yourself informed by your beliefs?

 Again,  feminism is equality between the two genders in the way we receive respect, and the way we earn our opportunities. Judge me based on my merits and my mind, not by my gender. That is my belief. So I wont change the way I carry myself, and I won’t down play my femininity in order to be excepted and respected in or out of the workforce. That wouldn’t be equality. Even though women have way more rights, and way more freedom then we have ever had before, we still live in a mans world. I want to be equal to a man, while keeping my femininity.

5. Do you think clothing/makeup/hair helps communicate the truth about yourself or are those things superfluous add-ons?

I see how some people may feel that clothing, makeup and the way you di your  hair are superficial add on’s, but to me it is the way I express my individuality and my femininity. When I was younger I was embarrassed to dress  pretty and girly the way I wanted to. I was embarrassed to do my hair nice the way I wanted to, and I was embarrassed to wear make-up for fear that the boy’s at school would make fun of me, and not take me seriously, because I was always a bit of a tom boy. But a girl can play soccer and love football, but also still be fashionable and feminine. It does not have to be one or the other. I am a women and I am proud. And clothing makeup, as well as the way I do my hair is a wonderful reminder of that fact.

6 thoughts on “Fashion Beauty Friend Friday

Leave a Reply

