FBFF

Well, I have missed the last two FBFF post’s due to a family emergency. My younger brother was missing  for about a week and a half, but he is now home safe and sound. I want to take a minute to thank all of you who offered your thought’s and prayers. It really means a lot, and it paid off. That being said you are all in for a very long FBFF post. Not only will you get this weeks post, but you will also get a dose of the last two that I missed. So I hope you all enjoy!

FBFF April 15th – Gratitude.

First off I must say that I am very excited for this weeks set of question’s, because it really made me think of who is really important in my life. And by reflecting on this, it made me appreciate them so much more.

 1. When it comes to be personally – I owe a lot of who I am to:

Well I must say that I owe a lot of who I am to my grandma (who I named Bima for some reason when I was very little…I cried when I found out that wasn’t her real name. I still call her Bima to this day lol and so do all of her other grandchildren…I guess you can say I am the trend setter in the family.) and my mom. My mom had me at sixteen, so my grandmother was my mother figure in the early part of my life. Not to say that my mom wasn’t around. She was just more of an older sister to me than a mother figure. Both of these women are the most wonderful, strong, courageous women I know. I honestly can’t put into words how much I love them both. My grandmother for being there when I was young, and raising me with the love and care that  I needed, and my mom for always working so hard to make sure I had the best possible life. Bima is my grandma, my mom, and my best friend. I don’t know who  I would be without her. My mom is the most amazing mother anyone could ever ask for and I am blessed to have her n my life. I love her ❤ I owe a lot of who I am to the both of them.

(My mom in Pink and my Bima :D)

2. When it comes to be professionally – I owe a lot of who I am to:

I would have to say my former high school Yearbook/Creative Writing/journalism teacher. She was my teacher all through out high school, and she taught me how to take constructive critisim…she once told me “Vargas! You write like George Bush talks.” which was not a complement. She told it like it was and I loved that about her. She let me know when I was messing up, and she let me know when  was doing an awesome job. She never sugar coated anything for me and that made me grow as a writer, worker, and person.

3. When it comes to the art of blogging, I’m grateful to these people for helping me through some rough spots:

 Well I have to thank Stephanie of  The-Loudmouth, Brooke of Center Sage…oh my goodness there are just so many that I can’t put them all down or the post would run forever. When I have a rough spot with inspiration, these two girls are the one of the first’s that I go to, to get inspiration and get out of my rut. These girls are just amazing in the extreme. I love their style, their outspokenness, and their creativity.

4. One blogging challenge I’m grateful happened, because it made me stronger was…

I’m actually going through my blogging challenge right now. I am doing something really big that I am super excited about, and I am glad to have Stephanie of  The- Loudemouth to help me through this. It is quite a challenge, and it is a surprise so I can’t say that much on it. All I can say is stay tuned 🙂

5. To my readers, I’d like to say…

Thank you so much for all of your support, sweet comments, and inspirational emails. As I have said, I do this blog for my own creative personal outlet, but I am so happy to inspire people who actually take positive things from my posts, and genuinely like it. I have learned so much from my readers, and I will never be able to repay you for your love and support.

 

Now it’s time for pasts FBFF post’s that I have missed 😀

April 8th SPRING TRENDS!

What are the top 5 Spring trends that you are looking forward to seeing/sporting this season?

I have to say that I absolutely love spring time. There is just something so free and whimsical about this season. I also feel more girly during this time of year. So here is what I am excited to see this season.

Floral- Floral print has made a major comeback. It is now okay to where floral print from head to toe! Now, I pictured it in my head and it was just way to much…but when I saw it done on the runway it looked amazing. BeBe has some amazing floral prints that I am more than excited to rock this spring.

(Picture of clothing not from BeBe)

Rompers/Jumpers- This spring, it’s all about the jumpers…even though I saw something on E! news talking about Jumpers/Rompers are  a fashion that women love, but (get this)….men hate! Well I for one don’t care. I love jumpers and rompers. They make me feel beautiful, and I love how you can dress them up or dress them down.

Wedges- It’s time to bust out the wedges girls! I honestly used to hate wedges, but they grew on me once I started to get more into fashion. Funky shoes in general actually. I saw these amazing wedges that were flats and it blew my mind! 

Statement Accessories- They do say less is more. Minimalism has been a growing trend as of late, but you can always make a WOW! with a nice statement piece. If a girl has the right accessories, she can make the simplest outfit look like a million bucks.

 

70’s- I know some people say that the 70’s were the worst time for fashion, but I strongly disagree! They also said Disco music was horrible, but I have to disagree with that too. I am super excited for the resurgence of 70’s inspired fashion. It’s time to put away the skinny jeans and bust out those high wasted bell bottoms girls.

April 1st Rules of Engagement.

1. Guest posts are a good way to gain new exposure. What do you think is the appropriate way to go about securing a guest spot?

Well, I have never asked to guest post on someone elses blog, or for someone else to guest post on my blog. Although I have been playing with the idea of asking a blogger to write a post for my blog. I would say the best way to do it is, find a blogger you actually admire and like, and establish a relationship with them.

I wouldn’t want to come off as a person just asking for a guest post just to gain followers. Personally I would only ask a blogger that I have had actual contact with. That way we know and trust each other, and we know what we are all about. Also I have to genuinely like their blog.

2.Leaving comments is essential to growing your blog. But how can you leave a comment without coming across as “Follow me.Flollow me!”?

I would hate to come across that way. So I would just point out specific things I liked about their posts, and give genuine advice if they are asking a question in their posts.

3. We’ve all gotten a mass email at one time or another asking for blog exposure, a link exchange,etc…But the mass emails don’t work. How do you make your email stand out from the crowed?

Honestly, I have never sent out an email for exposure or link exchange, although I have gotten emails for a link exchange which I am more than happy do if I like the blog. I write my blog for myself and to inspire others. I really don’t do it for the exposure. If I get exposure, that’s great! I’m really happy, but I don’t really seek it out if that makes sense? Sometime’s I don’t make sense to myself hahaha.

But if I were to do something like that, I would just write a heartfelt email to a blogger that I really really like, be specific as possible about what I like about them, and then do a follow-up so that it doesn’t seem like one of those mass emails.

4. In interacting with other bloggers, where do you draw the line between seeking support and begging for exposure?

That is a very interesting question, and I honestly don’t know the answer. I have never come across a situation where someone has crossed a line. I guess for me it has to actually happen for me  to know that a line has been crossed.

5. What’s one rule of engagement error you made and how have you learned from that?

I would have to say writing emails and comments to big time, well established bloggers. When I first started blogging, I really didn’t know the rules. I wouldn’t really be specific in my emails, or comments about what I liked. So I am sure I came off as a blogger that just wanted to gain exposure lol.

For more FBFF post from other bloggers, please head over to Modly Chic!

 

6 thoughts on “FBFF

  1. I’m glad everything is going well with your family now and it’s so nice that you contribute your family into making you the awesome person you are. In a day where people are looking up to celebs it’s refreshing to see that people still put family as a priority. I think it’s cute that you still call your grandma Bima. I still do the same thing for my grandma. I call her Nana and have since the day I could speak b/c that is all I could say. As for the spring I think I’m most looking for the 70’s trend. Something about Bianca Jagger and the lady of leisure style.

    -xo
    Bobbie

    • So true. I have never really looked to celebs to follow, or be like. I was smart enough to know that behind the glits and glam, they are still people with normal problems and even more drama. I have no clue where I got Bima from. It was the first thing that came out of my mouth. I tried calling her grandma once. It didn’t feel right, and it made her sad lol.

      And I absolutely agree. The 70’s trend will be a killer! I have always loved that era, no matte what anyone else say’s about it hahaha

  2. Oh my gosh, I’m so glad to hear your brother is safe!!! Im glad to see you are back and everything is better. You have some great spring picks, and I really enjoyed reading your gratitude post 🙂

Leave a Reply

