Sour Cream Blueberry Muffins Anyone?

  Yet again, I was at it searching for new recipes to try out when this bad boy caught my eye. Sour Cream Bueberry muffins! I love Sour Cream, I love Blueberries, and I love muffins…What could go wrong??? Nothing I tell you!
Click here for more recipes
 
“The sour cream in this blueberry muffin recipe gives it a nice richness, and makes for a very tender muffin. Fresh blueberries are best, but if you have to use frozen blueberries be sure to drain them well, and toss in a little flour before adding to the batter.”

Makes 16 muffins

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time: 30 minutes

Total Time: 45 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup white granulated sugar
  • 1 (1/2 cup) stick butter, softened
  • finely grated zest from one lemon
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract, optional
  • 2 cups fresh blueberries

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Sift together the flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda into a bowl; reserve.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the sugar, butter, lemon zest, and vegetable oil until light and creamy. Beat in the eggs one at a time. Whisk in the sour cream, milk, and lemon extract.

Add half the dry ingredients, and stir until just barely combined. Add the remaining dry ingredients, along with the blueberries, and fold with a spatula until just combined.

Line your muffin tins with paper baking cups. Fill each to the top with batter. Bake 30 minutes to a beautiful golden brown. When cool enough to handle, remove muffins from the tins and serve.

11 thoughts on “Sour Cream Blueberry Muffins Anyone?

  1. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog! I always search for bloggers to follow on twitter (and I’m new to tumblr), so I saw your twitter handle coming up on my feed (from RTs and other bloggers) and I started following you too! Travelling is the thing I love doing the most (fashion comes second), so there will be a lot of travelling in my blog!
    This blueberry recipe looks yummy! I should try it!! 🙂
    Anna

  2. You have no idea how much I love muffins. Im just glad I hate cooking/baking or Id be making those right now and as a result Id be ten pounds heavier by the end of the weekend!! If I DID bake, I would comfort myself by saying blueberries are being hailed as the new super fat busting food… not sure how well they work in muffins though haha

  3. This is mouth-watering!!! Nothing smells better than BB muffins in the oven! I’m reminnded of lazy Sundays at the kitchen table. I’ll have to try this recipe. I’ve been using the same muffin recipe for years and have never deviated!
    christine
    http://un-stitched.com/

Leave a Reply

