Summer Time

It’s summer time & as always the sun is burning bright here in the sunny state of Florida. So I am really determined to become a beach bum this summer. I never really liked Florida, being a New Yorker (born & breed) But as I get older I am learning to appreciate my surroundings more often. There are many places I would love to see…maybe even move to. Some places on my mind are Chicago, D.C, Seattle, LA, Upstate NY to name a few. So who know’s if I’ll ever come back to Florida (I might as well enjoy it while I can) we all know that life can change in a blink of an eye. So here are some things I am really looking forward to this summer in the sunshine state.

 I’m really looking forward to hitting up Siesta Key this summer. I can honestly say that it is the most beautiful beach I have ever been to in my life. The sand is pure white and never gets hot & the water is crystal blue…not to mention the guys are to die for.

 Reading is one of my all time favorite things to do. I am really excited that I have some free time to catch up on some classics. I’ve never read Moby Dick or The Sound and The Fury. I’m used to reading a lot of chick lit, so I am trying to get into some serious reading. Ever since I read East of Eden by John Steinbeck, I have been trying to read more of classics.

 One thing I really love about summer is that almost everyone is free to meet up and have a good time. I remember having family barbecue’s almost every weekend when I was younger and it felt so good to be surrounded by so much family. (and trust me I have a really big family…I have over 35 cousins….and that’s just first cousins 0_o) So I am really looking forward to getting the family together.

 Oh yeahhh! That’s right guys. I’m busting out the neon nail polish. Since it’s summer time, it’s all about the bright colors. I never really liked the neon look before, but I have to admit that it has really grown on me. I’m the type of person that get’s set in my way’s, so I’m branching out of my comfort zone  & I’m really liking it so far. Can’t wait to see what else this branching out thing has in store for me.

 I know you can have popsicle’s anytime of the year…but let’s be completely honest. For some reason they are just so much better when you are walking down the street on a hot summer day. Nothing beats the classic popsicle on a day like that. If you don’t believe  me, then just try it. My favorite is strawberry and grape…but really I’ll take any flavor hehe. They are just so good.

Now I leave you with a song that I will be enjoying all summer long. Hope you enjoy. This is called “Look Away” by Lissie.

4 thoughts on “Summer Time

  1. I really enjoyed your post, even considering that I’m not a ‘summer’ person (I much prefer cold weather: fall and winter, specially the latter hehe…). However, I like some things about summer and they happen to be all of those you mentioned. It’s great that you’re going to read those masterpieces, I’m sure you’ll find that they make your summer a lot richer. Nothing wrong with reading chick-lit though (I do read that once in a while…sometimes more than that, hehe, I have my seasons). Neon colors are excellent and I find that they make me happier during these hot months! Those colors shown on the pic are all adorable. It would be nice if you shared a pic of your manicure with any of those.
    xx 🙂 and ‘see you’ on Twitter girl!

    • I love my chick lit & I go back to them often when I want a break from the classics hehe. I’m not a real big summer fan either, but it has it’s perks. I love fall! It has to be my favorite season of all time 😀 And I will most deff be posting a pic of my nails asap! see you on twitter hehe

  2. Nice plans for the summer!! This beach is wonderful, wonderful wonderful!
    I’m not really a classics fan, but now I’m reading a compilation of Classics curated by Paulo Coehlo (the book is called “Inspirations”) and I think I’ll might get some of the books he features to read them in whole!

Leave a Reply

