Inspiration (Old Hollywood)

ICONS AND MOVIES

When it comes to what inspires me, I would have to say it is a composition of many different things. From films and music to fashion and icons. At this point though I am drawing a lot of inspiration from eras of the past. Icons like Bette Davis and Audrey Hepburn (Although I will always draw inspiration from the amazing Audrey Hepburn) provide me with a constant flow of inspiration. These women had true talent and were true elegant women. Movie’s like “Dark Victory” and “Charade” make me want to emulate these women in every way. Don’t get me wrong there are many talented, elegant, and sophisticated women that inspire me today, but they are no Bette Davis or Audrey Hepburn.  There is nothing better than curling up and watching those iconic old hollywood films & seeing the women I love do what they did best. No matter how many times I see one of their movies, I am always stunned at how amazing they were.

MUSIC

Listening to music by Billie Holiday and Frank Sinatra make me want to go back in time. There talent and contribution to the music industry will never die. They provide much inspiration not only to me but also to the masses. Do any of you remember that song “Billie Holiday” by Warpaint?? (Video posted bellow, if you haven’t heard it) That is just one example of how artists like Billie inspire people to this day. Billie Holiday had this soulful/sultry voice, and Frank  possessed a swag that charmed everyone. I listen to their music on a daily basis and it never fails to put a smile on my face. Song’s like “That’s life” by Frank Sinatra inspires me to never give up. That when life gets tough, I just have to get back up and keep on going; and please let’s not forget “Summertime” and “I’m a Fool To Want You” by Billie! Words can not describe how amazing those song’s are.

This is what has been filling me with endless amounts of inspiration & I hope it has inspired you as well.

xoxo

-Steph

Leave a Reply

