Artist You Gotta Know

 The artist I bring to you today is Tarek Kasmi. The only thing more unique than his name is his philosophy and his take on the world & he expresses it all through his amazing music. Pop/rock that appeals to everyone! But behind the catchy beats that get stuck in your head and has you singing along to it all day is a message. A message to start a revolution that is just under the surface of his music. It’s like he is tricking people into listening to something intelligent!

 “I want to spark a revolution through art,” and that’s exactly what he does. Tarek is smart, witty as well as a crafty artist. Listening to his music and reading about his thoughts on music has left me in awe.. “Written ideas are transient; they don’t always leave a lasting impression. A good song, on the other hand, can inspire radical change within minutes, and it can happen for hundreds of people at a time. That is what I hope to achieve.” I have a strong feeling that he will be big and spark revolution. And people will get that message  consciously or subconsciously through his music. I was lucky enough to get a Q&A with Tarek and I was able to feel an even bigger connection to his music. I have always felt that you can appreciate an artists work when you know more about them. So enjoy!

Q.)What would you say is your signature sound?                                                            

A.)My signature sound is definitely really eccentric pop/rock. I have influences from all over the board musically, and that definitely shines through in my sound.

Q.)Where did you grow up, and how do you think this affected your sound?                                                                                                                                                        

A.)I grew up in Orlando, Florida. Being in a sunny, tropical environment definitely gave me a taste for upbeat pop music, and the city itself is one big culture clash, so I was exposed to lots of different musical styles at an early age. I grew up listening to punk, folk, pop, metal; name a genre and I probably listen to it!

Q.) What made you realize that music was your passion?                                           

A.)When I was 12, I got my first guitar, and it was love at first sight. Not to sound cliche, of course, but that’s how it went! There hasn’t been a non-musical day in my life since then.

Q.)When did you start performing?                                                                                            

A.)I played my first show when I was 15 years old. I was writing absolutely terrible metal music, but I’m sure it was a hilarious performance. I’d love to see a video for a laugh!

Q.)Are there any pre-performance rituals that you do?                                              

A.)Before most shows, I take time to reflect on everything that keeps me writing and performing. I have a really important message behind my music, and it never fails to give me motivation to do a show. Add a good cup of espresso to that and we’re good!

Q.) What has been the hardest thing about making music?                                           

A.)Being yourself. Personally, I have no problem being myself, but I know it can be hard for others. There are lots of people in the music industry who pressure artists into fitting certain molds so they can target gullible consumers. It’s a money-making tactic, and it’s really lame, but that’s how it goes.

Q)What was your favorite moment of being a musician thus far?                              

A.)Playing packed shows in Orlando and South Florida, no contest. Performing for crowds of people who dance and sing is definitely one of the best things I could ask for.

Q.)Do you have any advice for aspiring musicians?                                                       

A.)Put your heart into what you do and never settle for anything less than what you want. Be a perfectionist when it comes to your sound and image. Write the best music you can and play the best shows you can. Take every opportunity you get, and never sign anything without reading it.

Q)What is you favorite/least favorite part about performing

A.)I love interacting with crowds and going nuts on stage. If I’m a sweaty, crazy-haired mess at the end, I did it right. I’m not so fond of smacking my head on things on stage, but I somehow manage to do it at almost every show. It’s all good, though!

Be sure to check out Tarek’s next single, “Censor Me!” which is being released online on July 19th, so definitely be sure to check that out! and you can check out any updates about Tarek Kasmi on his facebook page.

8 thoughts on “Artist You Gotta Know

  1. Hi Steph! Well, his music TOTALLY reminds me of what I used to be really into. I’m more a fan of rap & hip-hop now, but throughout high school & most of college I was obsessed with pop-punk! He seems to have an upbeat attitude and a healthy vision for what he wants to do. I love that you’re continuing this series because there are so many music fans out there that would love to hear about these up-and-coming artists. Well done! 🙂

  2. Loving this! His sound is fantastic, very infectious and original and I really appreciate the message behind it. And how cool that you got the opportunity for this fab Q&A! You rock, girly! I loved reading his answers. I’ll definitely be on the lookout for more from him in the future! x

Leave a Reply

