A Readers Wish List

Being an avid reader, there are many books that I want to dive head first into. From “Flowers in the Attack,” to “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.” I love it all…The Classics, Fantasy and Chick Lit! I  read it all. But one book that I have heard about is at the top of my “Reader’s Wish List.” A novel by Amor Towles called “Rules Of Civility.”

The Novel is set in Manhattan “Post-Depression.” The main character Katya, works as a secretary at a white-shoe law firm, where she hides the fact that she is the daughter of Russian immigrant laborers. While working at the law firm she finds herself competing with her roommate for the affection of a very attractive patrician named Tinker Grey, but soon moves on to other privileged men after she learns about her roommate and Tinker Grey’s escapades all over Europe! However, time has changed everything. Including herself.

I have heard great reviews of this novel &  I am looking forward to reading it! A big part of it may have to do with the fact that I am obsessed with any novel set in this era.

In this novel “Towles portrays complex relationships in a city that is at once a melting pot and elitist- and a thoroughly modern heroine who fearlessly claims her place in it.” Lisa Birnbach- when I read that it made this novel even more appealing to me and critics have been raving about it none stop.

Stay tuned, because this book will soon be checked off my “Readers Wish List” and I will do a more in-depth post on it and let you know if my reviews match those of everyone else ;]

2 thoughts on “A Readers Wish List

Leave a Reply

