The Art Scene

If you didn’t know..I am a major art lover. I especially love Pop Art. Seeing as how I am obsessed with all things from the 50’s; that should come as no surprise to many of you, seeing as how Pop art emerged during the 50’s. What I love about it is that Pop art challenged the status quo in the art world.  Asserting that an artist’s use of the mass-produced visual commodities of popular culture is contiguous with the perspective of fine art. It’s in-congruent and hard to comprehend (much like life.) Which is why I love it so much.

Back in high school, I was on the Yearbook staff as both a Writer & as an Editor. One year our theme  for our Yearbook was Pop Art! I was so excited, because we were able to bring a piece of art and history of a major movement to the whole student body. They would always carry art with them, whereever they went, with that yearbook alone. It was an amazing process & I grew to love Pop Art even more as I explored! Here are some of my favorite pieces from Pop Art Artists.

This is from Eduardo Arroyo. A Spanish realist artist, who was also famous for his work as in Pop Art.

Robert Rauschenberg

These are some of my favorites by Robert Rauschenberg, considered a pioneer in his field, he was always pushing the envelope trying to create and push for new definitions. He is easily my favorite Pop Art artist. Back in 1961, Rauschenberg was invited to participate in an exhibition at the Galerie Iris Clert, where artists were to create portraits of the owner Iris Clert. Rauschenberg’s sent a telegram to the gallery, reading “This is a portrait of Iris Clert if I say so.” And that is how the second of the two painting I have featured of Rauschenberg, came to be.

And of course where would Pop Art be without Andy Worhol I ask? He was an American painter, printmaker, and filmmaker who was a leading figure in the visual art movement…also known as (you guessed it!) Pop Art. His contribution to the art world is phenomenal and will be experienced for years to come.

2 thoughts on “The Art Scene

Leave a Reply

