Song of the Day

 ..Being the old soul that I am, today’s song of the day features Dinah Washington’s “Cry me a River.” Dinah washington was at once one of the most beloved and controversial singers of the 20th century. Performing at the London Palladium, with Queen Elizabeth sitting in a box, Dinah told the audience: “There is but one Heaven, one Hell, one queen, and your Elizabeth is an imposter.” Imperious was the word for Dinah! But no matter her controversy, she was an amazing versatile singer who had a very short life. Passing at just 39 years of age.

 My grandmother was and still is a big influence in my life, and I can remember her playing music by Dinah Washington, Billie Holiday, Aretha and many more in the house. Every time I listen to these timeless artists I feel like I am home. So I hope you enjoy!

 

Ciao-

6 thoughts on “Song of the Day

  1. I love this song. Julie London does a wonderful version, too, but Dinah has such a warm, iconic way with it! I really don’t know much about her, it’s amazing to me that she passed away so young. She definitely made her mark on the world while she was here. xo

  2. Wow, reading and listening to this brings back nostalgia of sitting with my parents listening to records. Soulful and so right. I’ve heard many versions of this song. I love this one and a few more, by people who sing it with such passion.

Leave a Reply

