Song of the Day

 Manu Chao is a singer of Spanish and French origin. His parents fled their country to France to get away from a dictator that had executed his grandfather.You may have heard me raving about Manu Chao via twitter over the last couple of days hehe. Sorry for twitter blasting everyone, but Manu Chao is truly a great artist. The Spanish born, Parisian-based Political/Latin Folk singer has to be one of the most talented performers out there. Very few artists are able to  combine socially conscious lyrics with infectious grooves that give off irresistible energy. He makes people think and he makes people feel. It doesn’t matter if you don’t understand the language he is speaking in his music, you just know he is singing about something important. He often sings in French, Spanish, Arabic, Galician, Portuguese, English, Italian, and Wolof. Sometimes mixing them in the same song. He is one of the world’s largest selling artists, but is less known in the English-speaking world. He is very vocal (no pun intended) about what he believes, and puts it into his music, often singing about political issues such as immigration, global social justice, conflict, and of exploitative economic globalization. But his songs are also about love, lifestyles in different parts of the world, and music itself that is hopeful for the future and at the same time dramatic. He was openly critical of the Bush administration in the US & he has many followers among the European left and the anti-globalization movement. No matter what your views are, you wont be able to resist his music. He has something to say & he is making changes & that’s why I love him.  I hope you enjoy him as much as I do!

Here is a song that I love very much called “Me Llaman Calle.” In english it is called “They call me Street.” In this song he sings from a prostitutes point of view. Truly beautiful and sad. For those of you who don’t understand Spanish, I have posted the lyrics below the video in English. The song is sung as a poem, so the lyrics read as a poem as well 8]

They Call Me Street

Me llaman Calle / They call me Street
Pisando baldosas / Stepping on tiles
La revoltosa y tan perdida / The rebel who is so lost

Me llaman Calle / They call me Street
Calle de noche / Street of night
Calle de dia / Street of day

Me llaman Calle / They call me Street
Voy tan cansada / so tired
Voy tan vacia /  so empty
Como maquinita por la gran cuidad/ Like a little machine for the big City.

Me llaman Calle / They call me Street
Me subo a tu choche / I get in your car
Me llaman Calle de malegria / They call me street of the bittersweet
Calle cansada / Tired street
Calle dolida de tanto amar / Hurt street from loving too much

Voy calle abajo / I go down the street
Voy calle arriba / I go up the street
No me rebajo ni por la vida / I don’t reduce* myself not even by life
[*There’s a better word than this, but I can’t think of it now.]

Me llaman Calle / They call me Street
Y ese es mi orgullo / And that is my pride
Yo se que un dia llegara / I know there will come a day
Yo se que un dia vendra mi suerte / I know my luck will arrive one day
Un dia me vendra a buscar / Someday it will come to look for me
A la salida un hombre bueno / At the end, a good man
Dando la vida y sin pagar / Who gives life without having to pay
Mi corazon no es de alquilar / My heart is not to rent

Me llaman Calle / They call me Street
Me llaman Calle / They call me Street
Calle sufrida / Street of suffering
Calle tristeza de tanto amar / Street of sadness from loving too much

Me llaman Calle / They call me Street
Calle mas calle / Street, always street

Me llaman Calle la sin futuro / They call me Street,  without a future
Me llaman Calle la sin salida / They call me Street, without an exit
Me llaman Calle / They call me Street
Calle mas calle / Street more street
La de mujeres de la vida / One of the women of the night
Sube pa abajo / Goes down
Sube pa arriba / Goes up
Como maquinita por la gran cuidad / Like a little machine across the great city

Me llaman Calle / They call me Street
Me llaman Calle / They call me Street
Calle sufrida / Street of suffering
Calle tristeza de tanto amar / Street of sadness from loving too much

Me llaman Calle / The call me Street
Calle mas calle / Street, always street
Me llaman siempre y a cualquier hora / They always call me and at all hours
Me llaman guapa / They call me beautiful

Siempre a deshora / Always at an inconvenient time
Me llaman puta / They call me whore
Tambien princesa / As well as princess
Me llaman Calle / The call me Street
Es mi nobleza / It’s my nobility
Me llaman Calle / The call me Street
Calle sufrida / Street of suffering
Calle tristeza de tanto amar / Street of sadness from loving too much

3 thoughts on “Song of the Day

Leave a Reply

