Strawberry or Apricot Hand Pies!!

I saw this recipe for Strawberry or Apricot Hand Pies a while ago in a Oprah magazine & I made myself a promise to attempt to make them. I have recently fulfilled that promise to myself & I could not have been more proud at how good they turned out. Unfortunately I only had one, because my family attacked them like a wild pack of wolves!! For this recipe I used Strawberries, but I plan on trying out the Apricot in the near future :]

Ingredients

  • 8 Tbsp. (4 ounces) cream cheese, softened
  • 8 Tbsp. (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 Tbsp. granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
  • 1/3 cup strawberry or apricot jam
  • 3/4 cup strawberries (6 to 8 or chopped apricots (about 2)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. raw (turbinado) sugar

(Seeing as how I don’t have a camera!! I couldn’t document my work. Here is a pic from google that pretty much shows how my work turned out :])

Directions

Active time: 45 minutes
Total time: 4 hours
Note: The dough can be made up to a day ahead; remove from refrigerator 15 minutes before rolling it out so it has time to warm up slightly.

In a food processor, pulse together cream cheese, butter, cream, granulated sugar and salt until smooth. Add flour and pulse until a sticky dough forms. Cover dough snugly in plastic wrap; chill until firm, 2 to 3 hours.

Preheat oven to 350°. Working on a floured surface, roll out dough into a 10 x 20 rectangle. Using a bowl or glass, cut out 8 (4 1/2″) circles.

Drop about 2 tsp. jam onto 1 side of each circle and top with 1 Tbsp. strawberries or apricots. Brush the outer edge of each circle with egg, and then fold over to make half-moons. Press the edges together firmly, and then seal with the tines of a fork. Place on a parchment-paper-lined sheet tray and cut 3 (½) slits in each top. Brush with egg, sprinkle with raw sugar, and bake until golden brown, 30 to 35 minutes.

 
*Be sure to use a lot of flour, so that the dough does not stick!!
6 thoughts on “Strawberry or Apricot Hand Pies!!

Leave a Reply

