Roar With The 20’s

One of my all time favorite eras is the roaring 20’s. I honestly can’t think of anything not to love about the 20’s. I have always been fascinated with the history and style of the 20’s. Speakeasies, gangsters, bootleggers, flappers, silent films, JAZZ! Would it surprise you if I told you that one of my favorite books is “The Great Gatsby”?? If I were able to transport myself back in time, I would go to the 20’s. One of my all time favorite silent films is “Her Night of Romance,” made in 1924 staring Constance Talmadge and the magnificent Ronald Colman.

Ronald Colman Picture Constance Talmadge Picture

Ronald Colman became famous for his amazing deep voice, but he was originally famous for his silent films. “Her Night of Romance. ”  was about an impoverished British lord (Paul Menford played by Colman) impersonates a doctor in order to woo an ailing American heiress (Dorothy Adams played by Talmadge). The lord is in it for love, but his business associate (Joe Diamond) smells money. It truly is an amazing and funny silent film & you should check it out if you get the chance.

There is so much to love about the 20’s! But what I love the most is the fashion. The women were sexy… classy & the men were dapper! Here are some photos of 1920’s fashion for women that may inspire you as they do me.

(Photos from my Pinterest)

 Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image
Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

9 thoughts on “Roar With The 20’s

  1. I agree – “Midnight in Paris” is a great movie. My favorite of the year 🙂

    I love the collection of photos that are from (or represent) the jazz age. The last one (the three women at the bar) is especially beautiful. All the looks are so elegant and refined. Thanks for sharing.

    I’ll look for “Her Night of Romance.” I love classic films.

Leave a Reply

