Decades of Music

Not only do I have eclectic tastes in home decor, I also have very eclectic tastes in music. I enjoy music of all kinds from all generations. To show you how serious I am about this, I have composed a list of music from some of my favorite decades to tickle your ear drums [:

The 20’s

During the 20’s (also known as the roaring 20’s, an era that I am absolutely obsessed with) Jazz music became very popular as well as  the center of American culture. Chicago became the capital of jazz & singers such as Billie Holiday stole the spotlight as well as people’s heart. What I love about the music from this era is that the lyrics were poetic. So on that note first up is “Ain’t Misbehavin,'” Originally written and performed by Fats Waller in 1929. This song has been remade by the likes of Ella Fitzgerals, Billie Holiday, Ray Charles & Louis Armstrong! Those are some pretty good artists if you ask me.

Another song that I listen to on a regular basis is “Blue Skies,” written by Irving Berlin in 1926 and originally performed by Belle Baker. However this one is sung by Josephine Baker who was a famous dancer, singer and actress. She was nicknamed the  “Bronze Venus,” the “Black Pearl,” and even the “Créole Goddess” in anglophone nations. I love this version just as much! Since time travel hasn’t been invented yet, this song get’s the job done when I want to get transported back in time.

The 30’s

This is a song that I have listened to many many times in my short 20 years & I have yet to get tired of it. “Dancing with Tears in My Eyes,” sung by Ruth Etting is one of my all time favorite songs. Ruth Etting was known as “America’s Sweetheart of the Song.” In the late 30’s Etting’s divorced her husband after falling in love with her pianist. However, her ex-husband was convicted of attempted murder, for trying to kill her pianist but was released on appeal after one year in jail. The scandal effectively ended her career. It makes me think of all the famous people today. They get away with a lot more & their careers just get bigger. This song has also been done by the likes of Peggy Lee, Nat Shilkret and His Orchestra,  The Regent Club Orchestra in, and Mantovani and His Orchestra later in the 50’s.

Another song I adore from the 30’s is “Love Me or Leave Me,” also by Ruth Etting.

 

The 40’s

One of my favorite artists from the 40’s is Wynonie Harris. He was an American Blues shouter and rhythm and blues singer of upbeat songs featuring humorous, often ribald lyrics. He is generally considered one of rocks n’ rolls forerunners, influencing the likes of Elvis Presley! & where would be without ELVIS!! This song is called “Good Rockin’ Tonight.”

Another one of my favorite songs from the 40’s is “Move it on Over,” by Hank Williams. Move It On Over was one of  Hank Williams’ firsts country hits reaching #4 in 1947’s country singles chart.

The 50’s

Another one of my favorite eras for music! The 50’s is where I’m at. I could go on and on about why I love 50’s music, but that would take forever & I’m sure you just want to hear some music. So let’s get started! Wanda Jackson (also known as the “Queen of Rockabilly,” has to be my all time favorite female artist of all time. Famous for mixing country with rock n’ roll & her gritty voice. How could I not love her! I’m not going to waste anymore of your time. Here is “Fujiyama Mama” by the Queen of rockabilly!

I was going to show you some other artist’s from the 50’s but I’m just really into Wanda haha. Here is a live video of her performing her version of “Hard Headed Women.”

 

I really hope you enjoyed! Stay tuned for tomorrows post where I’ll be covering some of my favorite music from the 60’s to the present! & feel free to tell me your thoughts! I love reading your thought [:

 

4 thoughts on “Decades of Music

Leave a Reply

