Are you hungry for more??

I’M BAAAAACK! and how I have missed you all so much. This move back to New York has been absolutely crazy. Florida has been my home for the last 6 years, but my real home has always been New York & I am so so very happy to be back! Surrounded by family, friends and most importantly REAL PIZZA!! I have missed New York greatly, but I didn’t realize how far that longing went till I saw that sign that said “Welcome to New York,” I actually gave a shout of joy. It was a long and cramped road trip, but it  was awesome nonetheless.

The only thing that I regret is how long it took me away from my precious readers! So are  you guys hungry for more?? I haven’t done a recipe post in a long time & seeing as how I have been living off of pizza for the past week or so, I thought I might share a pizza recipe with you all!

This one I found on the food network and jumped at the chance to make it. Now it’s nothing compared to the delicious New York Pizza I have been gorging myself with, but it’s right on it’s heels hehe.

I hope you all enjoy!!

 

Thin Crusted Focaccia Pizza with Fresh Tomato, Basil and Mozzarella

 

Ingredients

Dough:

  • 2 cups warm water, about 110 degrees F
  • 2 1/2 ounces extra-virgin olive oil, plus 4 tablespoons for greasing the baking pan
  • 1/2-ounce dry yeast
  • 1/2-ounce honey
  • 1 3/4 pounds all-purpose flour, plus extra for rolling dough
  • 3/4-ounce kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal, to dust baking pan

Pizza:

Directions

Preheat a convection oven to 325 degrees F or a regular oven to 350 degrees F.

To make the dough: In the bowl of a standing mixer, combine the water, 2 1/2 ounces of olive oil, yeast and honey. Allow the yeast to proof for 5 minutes. Add the flour and salt, and mix with a dough hook on medium speed until the dough is pliable and elastic, about 5 minutes. If the dough is a little wet, you may need to add a little more flour. The dough should be moist, but not stick to the hands. Cover withplastic wrap, and allow the dough to rise in a warm place until doubled in size, about 20 minutes.

Brush the remaining olive oil on a rimmed baking sheet about 18-by-26-inches and dust with the cornmeal. Roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface to about 1/4-inch thick and prick the dough all over with a fork or rolling docker. Brush off any excess flour and transfer to the prepared baking sheet. Bake the dough until lightly browned, about 6 minutes. Cool.

When the dough has cooled, evenly top with focaccia with the tomato slices, covering the entire surface and lightly season with kosher salt and white pepper. Sprinkle with the basil chiffonade and lightly top with the mozzarella. You should be able to see the tomatoes through the cheese. Return to the oven and bake until the cheese is melted and slightly colored. Cool the pizza slightly and cut into 2-bite triangles.

3 thoughts on “Are you hungry for more??

  1. That recipe looks YUMMYLICIOUS!!! Thanks Jamillah, I will try it out very soon and let you know how great it was. I really want to visit NYC next year, hopefully I can make it there! It is, like I told you a few days ago, *the* place to be and I completely understand the joy you felt when you returned. :)) xx

Leave a Reply

